Six Slice Cake

(Present Day)

I was running late to office and had stopped at Kohinoor for a quick bite of Bun Maska and the famous Irani Tea when I overhead an elderly yet zealous voice saying, “Bhayya six slice cake”.. I didn’t knew that someone could have an amazing appetite and could order 6 slice cakes.. To my own surprise just glancing at the person ordering 6 slice cake made me nostalgic..

(Somewhere in the memory lane)

I yelled,”Bhauji, 2 by 3 special” to which he echoed, “2 by 3 special de, Hyderabadi Biryani k table pe”.. Yup I was known by Hyderabadi Biryani, the only dish I liked (cause it was economical and yet tasty) at his always crowded Sahiba hotel..
It was my third year of MCA in SIOM and by now I had my fair share of happiness, sorrows and friends I could vouch on. We were discussing about the placements and how we’d be preparing for the companies and the life after college.
I was already placed in Pune based company Making it clear I’d still be in Pune after college whereas Sachin and Bhatu were indeed gonna get some top notch companies making it clear either one or both of them would be out of town for the sake of employment.
Our discussions were stuffed with Day 0 of Recruitment Drive, Campuses participating, Competition with Engineering grads and the girls. But no one had mustered enough courage to talk about the probable separation. Time passed quickly and we ended up in different cities with circumstances odd enough to make my best friends unavailable for our weddings..

(Present Day)

Although I was running late I decided to approach “The Man” to tell him I felt jealous and I envied what he had but I couldn’t. All I could do was try to avoid the laughter all around me.

(long back in the memory lane)

“Bhayya 3 me do plate Tahari dena.. Altamash aaj ka bill tu de bhai..” “Maine mana kiya kya bhai” came his poised response. As soon as he got up after finishing the food Tausif said agle baar tu de bill har baar usko bolna achcha nahi lagta to which I could only nod without uttering a single word.
It was 2nd year of our friendship and a bond for lifetime was being built. We had decided to pursue a career in the field of Information Technology and had even dreamt of us staying in the same apartment community so that we could look after each other’s back, that’s what friends do right?
Time flew as always with me and Tausif being flatmates and Altamash relocating to Pune. we all three got married eventually and are busy in our professional and married lives yet we stay in touch as frequently as possible cause there are friends whom you never let go, ever.

(Present Day)

“6 slice cake nahi bhai, 1 cake k 6 slices” (may be his next words faded in his mind, sabko diabetes hai ab).. He indeed was an elderly person and was accompanied by his 5 friends who seemed content, happy and vivacious having spent the moment together, maybe they’ve done that always and will keep on doing it forever.

I realized Heart is a miraculous thing when it’s greedy nothing can content it’s desires, when it is content even small things shared among friends make you joyous.

I approached The Man and told him I would like to take a photograph of them as a reminder of True Friendship that can last forever and can overcome all the boundaries. After answering the background verification questions I had the moment captured to be shared with my closest friends to tell them, “yes, we will reach the phase of 6 slice cake”..

Based on real characters and incidents. Happy Friendship Day..

Six Slice Cake

© http://www.ashknigahee.com

One thought on “Six Slice Cake

What's on your mind?